Know your options after an accident with an uninsured driver
Car insurance is required in New York, but that doesn’t mean that all drivers follow this law. Many drivers fail to get car insurance or fall behind of their payments. Then, when you are in an accident with an uninsured driver, you can feel like you are left to foot the bill on your own.
This is not the case. As an insured driver in New York, you have options to help you cover the costs after an accident with an uninsured driver.
Uninsured accident coverage in New York
In New York, your car insurance company is required to provide you with coverage in the event that you are in an accident with an uninsured driver. The minimum amount of coverage is $25,000 for one person and $50,000 for two people. This can help cover many of the costs you face after an accident, including damage to your vehicle and injuries for you and your passengers.
Check your policy to see if you have additional coverage
Supplemental uninsured motorist (SUM) coverage is not required under New York law. If you have this coverage, however, it can provide you with additional compensation in the event of an accident. Check your insurance policy to see if you have this type of coverage. If you do not, you may want to consider adding it to your policy.
Other legal options
In addition to insurance benefits, there may be other legal options available to you. For example, you may have a personal injury action against the uninsured driver. You may be able to bring a claim if the accident was a result of negligence by another party. In order to determine if you have this type of claim, you should speak to an experienced attorney who can evaluate your case.